Friday, September 18, 2009

Types of Galaxies

There are three main kinds of galaxies:
1. Irregular Shaped,
2. Spiral with trailing arms of stars and nebulae
3. Elliptical.
The spiral and irregular galaxies have both old and young stars and reserves of gas and dust to make new stars. The special ones like our own galaxy Milky Way, has a centre which consists of red giants or dying stars while the new stars are formed in the dusty arms. Elliptical galaxies are supposed to be spiral galaxies that have lost their arms in due course of time. They consist mainly of red giant stars.

Admin says,
As we had an introduction to what is universe. Let me introduce some new terminologies which are unknown to common people in the next post.

No comments:

Post a Comment


free counters
ss_blog_claim=44b5b19686a6c0420c9f09f257f81c9c ss_blog_claim=44b5b19686a6c0420c9f09f257f81c9c